Wednesday, Nov 23, 2022
Food

5 Ways to Safely Order Gluten-Free Sushi

Sushi is an excellent gluten-free option, just as it is for many Celiac patients. Without a doubt, they can eat the food without being concerned about becoming sick. But it’s not relatively that easy. Although sushi is naturally gluten-free, certain restaurants could employ low-cost items that do. Furthermore, there is a greater chance of cross-contamination if some essential ingredients, such as soy sauce, are inadvertently moved during preparation. So when it comes to ordering sushi, there are many important considerations you need to make.

Avoiding Marinades

If you are concerned about gluten in sushi, you should avoid marinades and soy sauce. These ingredients are commonly used in preparing sushi but also spike your risk of gluten and other health problems. You can also request sushi served with unmarinated rice or inquire if your server uses gluten-free soy sauce.

Most sushi restaurants take extra precautions like the gluten free sushi haleiwa hi offers. Before ordering sushi, ask the staff about their gluten-free options and tell them you have an allergy to ensure that their sushi is gluten-free.

You should know that sushi restaurants may use soy sauce, teriyaki sauce, or rice-derived vinegar as a marinade. Some restaurants use fish marinades if they serve sushi made of salmon or tuna. You should not order salmon or creamy salmon rolls if you suffer from gluten intolerance. A spicy tuna roll may be a better option. You should also be aware that some sushi recipes may contain imitation crab.

Avoiding Soy Sauce

When ordering gluten-free sushi, it is essential to be sure to mention your allergy to soy sauce to the sushi chef. You can also ask what marinades are used on the sashimi platters and bring your soy sauce. Most sushi restaurants are gluten-free-friendly and stock gluten-free soy sauce, but it is always best to ask.

In most sushi rolls, soy sauce is a typical element. It can contain wheat, which can cause gastrointestinal issues for those with celiac disease. Instead, choose tamari or coconut aminos. Also, avoid sushi rolls with soy sauce, which may include eels marinated in soy sauce and fried ingredients.

Avoid soy sauce when ordering gluten-free sushi. Avoid sushi with dark spices, including teriyaki, ponzu shoyu, eel sauce, and soy sauce. One exception to this rule is an orange-colored spicy sauce, typically a blend of Sriracha chili sauce and mayo. This sauce is gluten-free, but panko bread crumbs are not. Panko is made from wheat.

Avoiding Sashimi

When ordering gluten-free sushi, you should always look at the ingredients to ensure they are safe. Some sushi restaurants may use cheap or essential elements for sashimi, which may carry over to other components. Luckily, there are plenty of safe ingredients you can swap for.

Sashimi is a thinly sliced fish. This type of sushi does not contain gluten and becomes gluten-free when mixed with soy sauce. However, some toppings, fillings, and sauces may contain gluten. Nori, a type of dried seaweed, is also gluten-free.

Soy sauce is another common source of gluten. Most regular soy sauces are made from wheat, so request a gluten-free version of this sauce. You can also ask your server to check the ingredients. You should also avoid tempura-fried items, often made from wheat flour.

Whether you’re ordering gluten-free sushi or another type of sushi, ask your server whether the fish is safe to eat. If it is, you should be safe as long as the other ingredients are gluten-free.

Avoiding Imitation Wasabi

When ordering gluten-free sushi, it’s essential to pay attention to the wasabi paste. Unfortunately, many restaurants use fake wasabi, which can contain gluten. Real wasabi is made from wasabi plant roots, not artificial additives. However, it might be challenging to distinguish between authentic and fake wasabi.

Luckily, plenty of sushi types are safe for people with celiac disease. But first, you need to learn the ingredients you should avoid. If you’re unsure, ask the server to explain. Usually, sushi is prepared with rice, soy sauce, and vegetables, so you can be assured your meal will be gluten-free.

Many sushi restaurants don’t use real wasabi but mix horseradish with mustard, wheat starch, and green food coloring. Ask to see the ingredient list, and ask the chef for a substitute if necessary. If this doesn’t solve your problem, bring your own 100 percent natural wasabi to avoid cross-contamination.